Maneater

Level Designer on Maneater (Blindside Interactive)
Remote, contract work for Blindside Interactive.
January 2017 – March 2018 (1 year 3 months).

From the creator of Killing Floor and Depth comes… Maneater! – UE4

Maneater is a Single-Player Action RPG, set in the unforgiving waters of the Gulf Coast. Fight to survive in the open ocean, with danger lurking at every depth. Your only tools are your wits, your jaws, and an uncanny ability to evolve as you feed. Anything and everything is on the menu… kill or be killed.

I worked for a solid year on Maneater with a cozy group of developers, most of which I already knew from working on Depth. I worked mainly to support the lead level designer, helping to build the large open world. Content work came as a natural extension of my level design and world building work, creating blueprints which made use of Instanced Static Meshes and Hierarchical Instanced Static Meshes in an intelligent and efficient way. I constantly had to search for my own design and creative solutions as the game and its systems evolved. If part of the world needed some progress to be done I would jump to that area and start to make progress. If I felt like drawings needed to be drawn in order to paint a vision for that area, drawings would be drawn. If design work needed to be done to help give structure to the area, I would open up Photoshop and start working on a diagrammatic 2D design layout.

I built a lot of stuff, sculpted landscape, placed AI and adjusted paths as the world evolved, set settings on actors within the world relative to the context of their use (basic optimization), added blocking volumes, did my best to make use of the content that we had, kit bashing assets as best I could, working within the natural limitations that a game development team always has. I did some basic modeling work also as a means to support the blueprint and world building work I was doing. Maneater has been a great game to work on, and definitely a positive development experience.

Watch Watch the PC Gaming Show live on June 11 @ 3 pm PT (6 pm ET / 11 pm BST / 8 am AEST) from PCGamer on www.twitch.tv